board of directors

Jim Lefebvre


Executive Director, 

Knute Rockne Memorial Society

Award-winning author, speaker and sports historian:

Coach For A Nation: The Life and Times of Knute Rockne , and

Loyal Sons: The Story of The Four Horsemen and Notre Dame Football's 1924 Champions

Karen Phelps Moyer


 Karen Phelps Moyer is a tireless, passionate advocate for children, and widely recognized for her philanthropic work to help families in the areas of grief, addiction and suicide. Karen co-founded The Moyer Foundation with a mission to provide comfort, hope and healing to children and families.    

A 1987 Notre Dame graduate, Karen is a devoted mother of eight, including two adopted daughters from Guatemala. She has received numerous honors for her work.  

Luther Bradley


Luther Bradley came to Notre Dame from Muncie, Ind., in 1973 and promply won the starting strong safety spot on a team that would win the national championship. He reprised the role as cornerback on the 1977 national champion Irish, and finished with an ND record 17 interceptions. 

Luther is Senior Market Relations Representative at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, and serves as Chairman of the Board of the Youth for Christ organization.

Jim Augustine


 As founder and proprietor of Augie’s Locker Room, the premiere store for Notre Dame football memorabilia, Jim “Augie” Augustine does more to keep alive interest in Notre Dame football history than just about anyone. 

A South Bend native and lifelong resident of the area, Augie is an Army veteran who served as a social studies teacher, guidance counselor and coach (like Rockne, track and football) at local schoools.

Dr. Greg Cloyd


 A 1978 Notre Dame preprofessional studies graduate, Greg went on to earn his medical degree from Vanderbilt, and served his residency and fellowship at Massachusetts General and Harvard hospitals. He spent nearly three decades as Attending Anesthesiologist with Summ Health Systems of Akron, Ohio.

Greg   is an extremely knowledgeable student of Notre Dame football history, and has put together an impressive collection of unique artifacts.  

Dr. Joe Harmon


 Dr. Joseph Harmon has a personal connection to Notre Dame football history. His grandfather, also Joe Harmon (ND 1925), was the backup center on the 1924 national championship team.

 Dr. Joe is a 1985 Notre Dame graduate in microbiology, and earned his medical degree from Indiana University. He has been in private practice with OB/GYN Associates of Northern Indiana and Allied Physicians of Michiana. 

Mike Nead


 A 1991 graduate of Notre Dame, Mike Nead brings a broad wealth of experience in project management, sales, and media production to a variety of opportunities, building relationships and offering creativity.  

 Mike has a number of credits in the film industry, where he has served as Chief Operating Office for Indiewood Pictures and as a producer and development officer for Origin Entertainment.  He is playing a key role in the development of the planned 2018 documentary film on the life of Coach Knute Rockne 

Tom Reynolds


 After his graduation from Notre Dame in 1969, Tom Reynolds took the lessons he learned as a reserve linebacker for the Fighting Irish and applied them to the “real world” in most impressive fashion, earning a  Ph.D. in mathematical psychology and teaching marketing at several universities. 

Tom has written dozens of academic articles, several books, and been awarded three patents on research methodologies. He has consulted worldwide for more than 50 major companies. Tom received the 2017 Knute Rockne Award for Innovation.

Roger Valdiserri


Roger achieved legendary status as Notre Dame’s sports information director for 28 years, promoting numerous championships, All-Americans, highlight-reel moments and national attention.    He was a trusted friend and wise advisor to countless players, coaches and administrators over the years, someone the university could turn to in any situation that involved coverage of the university and its sports teams.  

Roger was honored with the 2017 Knute Rockne Award for Distinguished Service.


We Recognize and Thank...

Founding Sponsors

The work of the Knute Rockne Memorial Society is made possible by the following FOUNDING SPONSORS:

Art Decio

Mike Leep Sr. and the Gurley-Leep Automotive Family

Karen Phelps Moyer

Chris & Clare Tayback

Founding Members

Our gratitude goes out to these FOUNDING MEMBERS of the Knute Rockne Memorial Society:


Jim Augustine 

South Bend, Indiana

David Burkart

Portland, Oregon

Tim Burkart

Carlsbad, California

Tom Burkart 

Mishawaka, Indiana

Dr. Greg Cloyd 

Hudson, Ohio

Frank Criniti 

Granger, Indiana

Mike Daugherty 

St. Paul, Minnesota

Debi Dell

North Palm Beach, Florida

Haley Scott DeMaria

Annapolis, Maryland

Dorais Family 

Detroit, Michigan

Dennis Doughty 

Osprey, Florida

Richard Elmore 

Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey

Bill Farmer 

South Bend, Indiana

Cappy Gagnon 

South Bend, Indiana

Mike & Patti Gehring 

Perrysburg, Ohio

Tom Gibbons 

Wescosville, Pennsylvania

Dr. Joe Harmon 

South Bend, Indiana

David Harris 

Stow, Ohio

Joe Hession 

Carmel, Indiana

Jim & Kriss Humbert

South Bend, Indiana

Kathleen Keifer 

Manhattan Beach, California

Phil Krause

South Bend, Indiana

Jim Lefebvre 

St. Louis Park, Minnesota

John Lium

Rye, New York

Jerry McKenna 

Boerne, Texas

Chris Meehan 

South Bend, Indiana

Joe & Barb Mendelson 

Santa Barbara, California

Len Moretti 

South Bend, Indiana

Patricia Jones Mullin

Stow, Massachusetts

Mike Nead 

Shoreview, Minnesota

Tony Nelson 

Fenelon Falls, Ontario

Brian O’Connor 

Summit, New Jersey

Richard Panther 

Naples, Florida

Katie & Ara Parseghian

Granger, Indiana

Dr. Katie Rashid

Northville, Michigan

Jim Rashid

Northville, Michigan

Tom Reynolds 

Wilson, Wyoming

Tony Roberts 

Gainesville, Virginia

Knute Rockne  III 

Midvale, Utah 

Nils Rockne 

Burneyville, Oklahoma

Mark Rolfes 

South Bend, Indiana

Pat Sarb 

Lisle, Illinois

Todd Stroup

Roswell, Georgia

Brian A. Sullivan

Fogelsville, Pennsylvania

Michael and Sheila Witous

Vandalia, Michigan

Ron Waytula

McHenry, Illinois

Marc Wolnitzek 

Fort Wright, Kentucky